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+LICENSE RENEWAL 2010
VIA ON-LINE*

Yes, you can renew your license
on-line! The process was well-
received last year with nearly 97%
of licensees utilizing the on-line
system. Please refer to the page 4
in this newsletter for the details on
renewing your license.

+MESSAGE FROM THE
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR ¢

We at the Board office are grateful to
serve the licensees and the public-at-
large. As your Executive Director, I
am proud to be entering my eleventh
year of working for the Board. The
Board's licensing assistant, Muriel
Morin, has been with Board for
almost 3 years. We are happy to
answer your questions, direct you to
language in the practice act, help you
navigate the Board’'s website or assist
in any matter under the purview of
this Board. In most instances, if we
cannot answer your question, we can
direct you to the entity that can.
Please, let us know how we can help
you!

The Board office takes this
opportunity to highlight a few issues
for the licensees.

Display of Licenses.

Current original licenses (aka renewal
certificates) must be displayed at
your primary professional address,
accessible to the public. On August
1, 2010, you are required to post
your license with the expiration date
of July 31, 2011. Renew early to
ensure you have your license to post.
Failure to do so viclates Nevada
Revised Statute 640.110.

Contacting the Board Members.

Contact with the Board members must
be made through the Board office. It is
never appropriate to contact a Board
member at work, at home or during a
conference, etc. Although you may
know a Board member, contacting that
Board member directly can result in the
Board member inadvertently violating
the Nevada Open Meeting Law.
Additionally, the licensee may
communicate information to the Board
member that will cause the Board
member to be removed from hearing a
matter before the Board. All licensees
and the public are guaranteed equal
access to the Board. All communication
must be made through the Board office.

Board Finances.

Many licensees are concerned about the
Board finances due to the budget crisis
facing the State of Nevada. We are
pleased to report that your Board is
financially stable. The Board s
independent of the state budget, does not
receive taxpayer money, and operates
solely on income received from application
and renewal fees. These fees have not
increased in over 15 years.

Board staff has taken steps to decrease
spending and increase  productivity
wherever possible. These continuous
changes have prevented the need to
increase our staff or increase fees.

The Board operates on a budget and is
required to have financial audits
performed to ensure we are following all
laws. Financial records are provided and
discussed at every meeting of the Board.
Come to a Board meeting to learn more.

Any questions? Please call the Board
office, send us an email or come o a
Board meeting. We will be happy to
help you!
Allison Tresca
Executive Director



+USE OF PHYSICAL THERAPIST'S
ASSISTANTS*

The Board office receives a high volume of calls regarding
the legal use of PTAs. Additionally, many complaints that
are filed with the Board allege improper use of a PTA.
Ensure your compliance!

NAC 640.592 Supervision of physical therapist’s
assistant.

1. A physical therapist who supervises a physical
therapist’s assistant who provides treatment to a patient:

(a) Shall contact the patient initially to evaluate the
patient and write a plan of care for that patient.

(b) Shall formulate and document, on the medical
record of the patient, the treatment goals and plan of care
for the patient based upon the evaluation. This
information must be communicated verbally or in writing
by the supervising physical therapist to the physical
therapist’s assistant before initiation of treatment by the
physical therapist’s assistant.

(c) Must be accessible for communication by telephone
during the time that the physical therapist's assistant is
treating the patient, if the physical therapist’s assistant has
at least 2,000 hours of experience as a physical therapist's
assistant.

(d) Shall provide the required treatment and reevaluate
the patient not less than every seventh day of treatment
or within 21 days, whichever occurs first.

(e) Shall provide an evaluation before the patient is
discharged, based upon the availability of the patient.

2. A physical therapist who supervises a physical
therapist's assistant pursuant to subsection 1 shall make a
record of each reevaluation of the patient conducted by
the physical therapist in accordance with paragraph (d) of
subsection 1. The record must include, but not be limited
to:

(a) A functional assessment of the patient;

(b) A review of the daily activities performed by the
patient;

(¢) A reassessment of the plan of care, including short-
term and long-term goals; and

(d) A reassessment of the resources used by the
physical therapist’s assistant.

When a reevaluation is performed by the physical therapist
as required by (1}d) above, this does not mean the
therapist merely counter-signs the documentation
recorded by the physical therapist's assistant when the
assistant performed the treatment. The physical therapist
must treat the patient as part of his reevaluation of the
patient. A PTA may not perform the reevaluation or treat
the patient. The Board inspectors review thousands of
patient records as part of the annual inspections, Many of
those records reflect the PTA documenting the treatment
for a reevaluation, in their handwriting, however the PT
co-signed the note and billed for his services. According
to Nevada law, this is illegal. A patient scheduled for a
reevaluation must be placed on the schedule of the PT,
not the PTA. The PT is solely responsible for the care
when a reevaluation is required/performed.

+WEBSITE INFORMATION

Have you visited the Board's website lately? The
website contains all of the forms needed by licensees,
including change of primary professional address form,
change of residential address form, verification of
supervision of a PTA form, name change, and license
verification form. The website also provides Board
meeting agendas, Board meeting minutes and the
approved courses listing. ~ You can also view
information on the meetings held by the Advisory
Committee on Continuing Education. Stay informed —
visit the website often!

If you have a question about the website, please call
the Board office and we will point you in the right
direction.

+BOARD MEETINGS*

Are you interested in what the Board does? Want to
know what really happens? Attend a meeting of the
Board. They are open to the public and the Board
encourages all licensees to attend and participate. All
matters on the agenda allow for public input, so your
voice can be heard. Visit the Board’s website or call
the Board office for meeting information.

+REPORTING MALPRACTICE CLAIMS*

Chapter 690B.250 of Nevada Revised Statutes
provides that licensees are required to report to their
licensing Board any malpractice settlements in excess
of $5,000 within 45 days. Failure to do so can result
in disciplinary action. Are you in compliance?

*REVIEW OF CONTINUING
EDUCATION COURSES*

As required by NAC 640.450, courses are reviewed by
the Advisory Committee on Continuing Education
(ACCE). The ACCE makes recommendations to the
Board to grant a specific number of units or to deny
the courses. The ACCE is comprised of 7 members
and the members meet approximately every 6 - 8
weeks. The meetings are posted to the Board’s
website and noticed in accordance with Nevada Open
Meeting Law. We welcome your attendance and input
at these meetings. Please join them and see for
yourself how important their role is.

+PATIENT BILL OF RIGHTS*

The next page contains a Patient Bill of Rights
that was developed based on the calls and
complaints the Board office receives. We would
appreciate your feedback! Please send us your
comments.



BILL OF RIGHTS FOR PERSONS RECEIVING PHYSICAL THERAPY SERVICES

As the recipient of physical therapy services, you have legal rights to the care you receive.
The following are several important provisions concerning the physical therapy services
you receive.

1) On your first visit, you will be seen by a licensed physical therapist. The therapist must perform
an evaluation and develop a plan of care. You may ask the therapist to view his license, which
he is required to post.

2) On further visits, you may be seen by the therapist, a physical therapist's assistant and/or a
technician. Physical therapist's assistants are licensed and regulated. You may ask the assistant
to view his ficense, which he is required to post.

3) Technicians may perform certain limited activities related to physical therapy which have been
directed by the physical therapist. The therapist must be immediately available within the
treatment area when treatments are performed. Technicians are not licensed by the Board.

4) You have the right to physical therapy services regardless of race, color, sex, age, religion,
national origin, mental or physical disability or sexual orientation.

5) When a physical therapist’s assistant is involved in your care, the supervising physical therapist
must perform a reevaluation and provide the required treatment not less than every seventh day
of treatment or within 21 days, whichever comes first. You have the right to know who is
providing services — ask!

6) Technicians and physical therapist's assistants cannot perform evaluations or reevaluations, nor
can they plan the treatment program. These activities must be performed by a licensed physical
therapist.

7) You have the right to be informed of any risk that may be assoclated with the proposed
treatment of physical therapy.

8) Licensees must maintain your records in a secure and confidential manner. Additionally, a
licensee must make a record of your treatment within 72 hours of your visit.

9) When medical records are requested, the licensee must provide those to you within 5 business
days of your written request.

10) You have the right to seek care from the therapist of your choice! You are not required to utilize
the physical therapist or facility referred to by your physician. Always check with your insurance
provider to verify coverage.

Any questions about your physical therapist or physical therapist’s assistant?
Visit the Board's website at www.ptboard.nv.gov or call the Board office at 702-876-5535.



+ON-LINE LICENSURE RENEWAL ¢

We are pleased to offer on-line renewals again this year!
The process is simple, fast and secure.

Beginning June 1, 2010, you may visit the Board's website
and click on the “2010 Licensure Renewal” tab or go
directly to:

https://www.ptboard.nv.gov/renewal/epaylogin.aspx

In order to access your individual renewal form, you will
need to enter your license number, last four digits of your
social security number and date of birth.

Once you have gained access, you simply follow the
provided instructions. (1) Verify your residential and
professional addresses, making changes if necessary. {2}
Answer the renewal questions. (3) Enter your continuing
education courses. (4) Pay via your checking account.
Once completed, your information will be processed to the
Board. Your current license (aka renewal certificate) will
be mailed to your residential address of record in 2-4
business days.

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

Can multiple licenses renew via one transaction?
No. Due to the fact that you are entering personal
information to access your individual licensure record, only
one license can be renewed per transaction.

Many employers pay the renewal fees for their employees.
This is typically performed by sending in multiple renewal
forms with one check covering all of the employees. If
your renewal fee is paid for by your employer, it is
suggested that the employer directly reimburse you.

Can 1 pay with my credit card or debit card?

No. At this time, the Board will only accept electronic
checks. You enter the routing number and checking
account number and the renewal fee will be automatically
debited from your checking account.

Is it safe to renew on-line?

Yes. The web site uses industry-standard (Secure Sockets
Layer) SSL encryption to protect your privacy online.
Secure pages are marked by the lock symbol on your
screen. We will not store your checking account
information on our database. All personal data is
encrypted using industry standards.

Will I receive a receipt?

Yes. Once you have completed the process, you may
choose to print a receipt. The Board office will not have
access to your personal receipt, so please print a receipt
for your records. If your employer reimburses your annual
renewal fee or if your accountant requires a receipt, you
may use this receipt for these purposes.

I am a PTA working in Nevada and must submit
a supervision form to renew. WhatdoI do?

Fax or mail a completed supervision form AFTER you
have renewed your license on-line. We will not mail
your current license until we receive a supervision
form. Do not send in the supervision form before you
renew.

Will the Board be mailing paper renewal forms?
No. The Board prefers that all licensees take
advantage of the on-line renewal system. This system
has been created to make renewal easy and secure,

Are paper renewal forms available?

Yes. Upon written request, a licensee may obtain a
paper renewal form. Please fax or mail in your written
request for a paper renewal form. Be sure your
request contains your complete name printed legibly,
as well as your signature. The Board office will not
accept phone call or email requests for paper forms.
We will mail your renewal form to your residential
address of record in 1-3 business days.

I want to renew on-line, but I am not
comfortable using a computer. What can I do?
Ask a relative or co-worker to help you. Be certain to
ask someone you trust, as you will be entering private
information.

How many continuing education units do I need
to renew?

The vast majority of licensees require 1.5 units (15
hours) of Board-approved continuing education to
renew. No more than .8 units can be obtained from
non-clinical courses. Please visit the Board's website
to ensure you take only Board-approved courses.
Non-approved courses do not count toward your
annual requirement,

Can the Board office assist me in the on-line
renewal process?

We can certainly answer general questions, however
we cannot perform the on-line renewal for you.

What if I don’t want to renew my license?

The on-line system allows you to report that you do
not intend to renew your license. After entering the
system, simply select "I do not intend to renew my
license,” When prompted “Are you sure?” click ™ OK".
We would appreciate that information so we can
update your record accordingly.

id licens i r,
your continuing education requirement was
calculated for you and provided with your initial
licensure information. Please refer to that
information for your requirement. If you have
misplaced that information, you may make a written
request via fax or mail, with signature, and we will
call you with 1-3 business days with the information.



